LA Galaxy accept offside call that negated Robbie Keane's stoppage time equalizer

29 September 5:40 pm

LA Galaxy accept offside call that negated Robbie Keane's stoppage time equalizer

By Adam Serrano

PORTLAND, Ore. – The LA Galaxy were heated when a Robbie Keane goal was called back in stoppage time due to offside, but the team had no quarrel after the final whistle.

Keane appeared to tie the game in stoppage when he headed a Landon Donovan free kick into the back of the net, but the assistant referee Eric Boria raised his flag, ruling the play offside. The offside call through the Galaxy into a fury after the whistle was blown, but television replays showed that Boria was correct as the Galaxy captain was off once Donovan struck the free kick.

 “If the referee is right, more credit to him,” said LA head coach Bruce Arena. “We've been in a lot of games this year where the plays aren't even close and they don't have them right. So, if they had it right, more credit to them."

Despite initial frustration in the heat of the moment, Keane shrugged off any frustration after the match.

“Someone said that I had a shoulder offside,” said Keane. “If it was offside then it was offside.”