LA Galaxy to host Puerto Rico in CCL

Galaxy to Host First Leg and then Travel to Puerto Rico a Week Later for the Second Leg

Donovan vs TFC - 2- 5/15

Photo Credit: 
Robert Mora

LA Galaxy will play the Puerto Rico Islanders in the Preliminary Round of the
2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League when the third edition of the tournament begins in
July. The tournament will begin July 27-29 with the first leg of the
Preliminary Round and the second leg a week later. The winners will advance to
the Group Stage, which is set for August 17-19.

"Puerto Rico is a team
with proven success in the USSF Division-2 Pro League and we are looking
forward to opening our Champions League campaign against them,” LA Galaxy
General Manager and Head Coach Bruce Arena said. “They have had success in this
tournament in the past and have an experienced manager in Colin Clarke, so they
will present a difficult challenge for us."

The draw conducted Wednesday by deputy general secretaries
Ted Howard and Italo Zanzi at the confederation’s New York headquarters set the Preliminary
Round pairings and matchups for the Group Stage.

Preliminary Round matches will have two-time runner-up Cruz Azul of Mexico
against Panama’s San Francisco, the Mexican Clausura runner-up -- either Santos
or Toluca -- facing San Juan Jabloteh of Trinidad, Costa Rica’s Brujas facing
Joe Public of Trinidad, the Canadian champion – either Toronto FC or the
Vancouver Whitecaps – against Motagua of Honduras, and Xelaju of Guatemala
against a Central America club.

Seattle Sounders will face an as yet-to-be determined Central American side in
the Preliminary Round, while Marathon – a quarterfinalist this past season –
will take on Tauro FC of Panama.

berths originally were allocated to El Salvador, but FIFA has suspended
the country due to governmental interference in the federation’s affairs. The
government has until June 8 to comply with FIFA’s non-intervention requirements
or its teams will be barred from international competition, including the
Champions League – and its berths will be reassigned.

winner of the Galaxy-Islanders series will be placed in Group D, which will
include the Mexican Clausura champ, either Santos
or Toluca, Olimpia of Honduras and the Central America 11-Xelaju winner

A will consist of MLS champion Real Salt Lake,
Arabe Unido of Panama,
the Cruz Azul-San Francisco winner and the winner between the Canadian champion
and Motagua.

B will have 2009 Supporter Shield winner Columbus Crew, Municipal of Guatemala,
the winner between Jabloteh and Toluca/Santos, and either Brujas or Joe Public.

Apertura champion Monterrey will head Group C, potentially the most difficult,
with Costa Rica’s Saprissa, the Seattle-Central America 12 winner and either
Tauro or Marathon.

are the full results of today’s draw:

(Host of first leg listed first)
Central America 11 vs. Xelaju (GUA)
Brujas (CRC) vs. Joe Public (TRI)
San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) vs. Santos-Toluca (Mexican Clausura runner-up)
San Francisco (PAN) vs. Cruz Azul (MEX)
Los Angeles Galaxy (USA) vs. Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR)
Tauro FC (PAN) vs. Marathon (HON)
Seattle Sounders (USA) vs. Central America 12
Toronto-Vancouver (Canadian champion) vs. Motagua (HON)


Group A
Real Salt Lake (USA)
Arabe Unido (PAN)
San Francisco/Cruz Azul winner
Toronto-Vancouver/Motagua winner

Group B
Columbus Crew (USA)
Municipal (GUA)
San Juan Jabloteh/Santos-Toluca (Mexican Clausura runner-up) winner
Brujas/Joe Public winner

Group C
Monterrey (MEX)
Saprissa (CRC)
Seattle/Central America 12 winner
Tauro/Marathon winner

Group D
Santos/Toluca (Mexican Clausura champion)
Olimpia (HON)
Los Angeles Galaxy/Puerto Rico Islanders winner
Central America 11/Xelaju winner