Bruce Arena receives the Coach of the Year award at LA Sports Awards

Landon Donovan also honored for his goal against Algeria in WC

Arena - LA Sports Awards

Photo Credit: 
L.A. Sports Council

Los Angeles - The Los Angeles Lakers NBA championship was named the top sports moment
of 2010 at the 6th annual LA
Sports Awards, presented by Skechers, held last night at The Beverly Hilton.

Lakers defeated the Boston Celtics in a dramatic seventh game, 83-79, to win
their second straight title and the franchise’s 16th overall

The LA
Sports Awards are presented annually by the Los Angeles Sports Council to
celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange
County area.

In other
award presentations, Derek Fisher of
the Lakers was honored as 2010 Sportsman of the Year and UCLA softball standout
Megan Langenfeld was named the
Sportswoman of the Year. Galaxy head coach Bruce
Arena received the Coach of the Year award and Tim Leiweke, president & CEO of AEG, was the Sports Executive
of the Year honoree.

the gala the overall Top 10 moments of 2010 as selected by a blue-ribbon media
panel were revealed in ranked order. They were:

  1.  Lakers Win NBA Title (June 17): The Lakers defeat the Boston Celtics in seven
    games to win their 16th NBA championship and 11th in Los Angeles.
  2. John Wooden’s Life and Legacy Remembered (June
    The influence of the long and distinguished life of
    Coach John Wooden is commemorated in a stirring memorial at UCLA.
  3. Buss
    Elected to Hall of Fame
    (April 5): Lakers owner Dr. Jerry Buss is
    elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.
  4. Donovan’s Dramatic Goal Propels U.S. to 2nd
    Round of World Cup
    (June 22): USA
    forward and team captain Landon Donovan scored a last-minute goal to defeat
    Algeria, 1-0, and advance the U.S. to the second round of the World Cup in
    South Africa.
  5. Zenyatta’s Remarkable Winning Streak (October 2): With a series of come-from-behind finishes,
    Southern California’s own Zenyatta wins five consecutive races to run her
    career unbeaten streak to 19 and confirm her status as one of the greatest race
    horses of all time.
  6. Olympic Gold for Lysacek (February
    Los Angeles’ Evan Lysacek wins the gold medal in Figure Skating at the
    Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, becoming the first American man to do so
    since 1988.
  7. Kings
    Return to NHL Playoffs
    (April 19): The Kings qualify for the playoffs and
    host their first postseason game since 2002, defeating the Vancouver Canucks,
    5-3, at Staples Center.
  8. UCLA Wins its 11th NCAA Softball Title (June 8): UCLA goes 10-0 in the postseason, including a sweep
    of Arizona in the Championship series, as Megan Langenfeld is named Most
    Outstanding Player of the World Series.
  9. L.A.’s Best Power Team USA to Basketball Gold (September 12): The Clippers’ Eric Gordon, the Lakers’ Lamar Odom,
    and former UCLA Bruin Russell Westbrook help lead Team USA to a gold medal at
    the FIBA Basketball World Championships in Turkey.
  10. Angels Host All-Star Game; Dodgers Broxton Registers Save (July 13): The Angels host the All-Star game for the first
    time since 1989; the Dodgers’ Jonathan Broxton records the final three outs to
    save the game, 3-1, for the National League’s first victory since 1996.

Sports West will televise the star-studded awards show on Friday, March 4 at
10:45 pm PST.

the festivities, fourteen additional awards also were presented to each of the
major local teams and universities -- plus Olympic sports and individual sports
--recognizing each one’s greatest moment of 2010. Those winners were determined
by online fan voting and the complete list of winners will be posted on the
Sports Council’s website

“Moments” must have taken place in
the local area or have involved a local athlete or team.

Bookmark and Share

Galaxy Head Coach Bruce Arena named 2010 Coach of the Year