LA Galaxy Unveil Complete 2012 Regular Season Schedule

20 of Galaxy's 34 regular season MLS games to be nationally broadcast

CARSON, Calif. (Thursday, January 5, 2012) – The 2011 MLS Cup Champion LA Galaxy today released their schedule for the upcoming 2012 MLS regular season. The club will play 34 games, 17 at home and 17 on the road, in 2012, starting with their season opener against Real Salt Lake in MLS First Kick 2012, presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods, at The Home Depot Center on Saturday, March 10. The Galaxy will play three games against each Western Conference opponent for a total of 24 games, while the club will face each Eastern Conference opponent just once this season for a total 10 games.

Of the Galaxy’s 34 games in 2012, 20 will be aired by the league’s national broadcast partners, ABC/ESPN, NBC Sports and the Univision family of networks. ESPN and ESPN Deportes are scheduled to air eight Galaxy games this season, airing two of the three legs of the SuperClasico against Chivas USA (May 19 and August 12), as well as games against Sporting Kansas City (April 7), New York Red Bulls (May 5), San Jose Earthquakes (June 30), Chicago Fire (July 8) and two games against the rival Seattle Sounders FC (August 5 and October 28).

NBC Sports, the league’s newest broadcast partner, will air a total of seven Galaxy games this season, including a rematch of MLS Cup 2011 between the Galaxy and Houston Dynamo on May 26 at the Dynamo’s new stadium, BBVA Compass Stadium. NBC Sports will broadcast their first-ever Galaxy game on March 31 when the club hosts the New England Revolution to close out their season-opening three-game homestand. The network will also broadcast two of the club’s three meetings with FC Dallas (July 28 and August 26), as well as games against the Portland Timbers (July 14), Columbus Crew (August 15) and Colorado Rapids (September 30).

Galavision and TeleFutura will broadcast a total of five Galaxy games this season in Spanish, beginning with the club’s second match of the season against D. C. United on Sunday, March 18 at The Home Depot Center. The networks will also show the Galaxy’s home matches against Chivas USA (July 21), Colorado Rapids (September 16), and Toronto FC (September 22), as well as their trip to San Jose to face the Earthquakes on October 21.

Tickets for all Galaxy home games are now available by purchasing LA Galaxy season tickets, which include your favorite seats to 17 regular season games and up to three bonus games, starting at just $20 per game. Three and six-game plans are also available, starting at just $22 per game, as well as a variety of additional packages that are catered to fit every fan’s needs. For more information about the Galaxy or to purchase tickets, please call 1-877-3GALAXY (342-5299) or visit www.lagalaxy.com/tickets.

DOWNLOAD THE SCHEDULE (.ics - download box will pop up)

AN INSIDE LOOK AT THE LA GALAXY’S 2012 MLS SCHEDULE

Home Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday – 2 Saturday – 10 Sunday - 5

Road Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday – 4 Saturday – 8 Sunday - 5

NUMBER OF GAMES BY CONFERENCE:

Vs. Western CONFERENCE (24 games)

  Galaxy at Home Galaxy Away
Chivas USA July 21 May 19, August 12
Colorado Rapids September 16 April 21, September 30
FC Dallas April 28, August 26 July 28
Portland Timbers April 14, June 17 July 14
Real Salt Lake March 10, October 6 June 20
San Jose Earthquakes May 23 June 30, October 21
Seattle Sounders FC October 28 May 2, August 5
Vancouver Whitecaps FC June 23, September 1 July 18

Vs. Eastern Conference (10 games)

  Galaxy at Home Galaxy Away
Chicago Fire -- July 8
Columbus Crew -- August 15
D.C. United March 18 --
Houston Dynamo -- May 26
Montreal Impact -- May 12
New England Revolution March 31 --
New York Red Bulls May 5 --
Philadelphia Union July 4 --
Sporting Kansas City -- April 7
Toronto FC September 22 --

LONGEST HOMESTAND:
Four Games – From August 26-September 22, the Galaxy will host FC Dallas, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, Colorado Rapids and Toronto FC for their longest homestand of the year.

LONGEST ROAD TRIP:
Four Games – From July 28-August 15, the Galaxy will visit FC Dallas, Seattle Sounders FC, Chivas USA and the Columbus Crew for their longest road trip of the season.

BROADCAST:
20 of the Galaxy’s 34 regular season games will be available on national TV

  • 8 games will air on ESPN or ESPN2 as well as on ESPN Deportes
  • 7 games will air on NBC Sports
  • 5 games will air on Galavision
  • Of the 20 nationally televised games, eight will see the Galaxy as the home side, while 12 will feature the Galaxy as the visitors.

DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME (PT) TV
Saturday 10-Mar vs. Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.  
Sunday 18-Mar vs. D.C. United 4 p.m. Galavision
Saturday 31-Mar vs. New England Revolution 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network
         
Saturday 7-Apr at Sporting Kansas City 2 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Saturday 14-Apr vs. Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday 21-Apr at Colorado Rapids 6 p.m.  
Saturday 28-Apr vs. FC Dallas 7:30 p.m.  
         
Wednesday  2-May at Seattle Sounders FC 7 p.m.  
Saturday 5-May vs. New York Red Bulls 5 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes
Saturday  12-May at Montreal Impact  1 p.m.  
Saturday 19-May at Chivas USA 7:30 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Wednesday 23-May vs. San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday 26-May at Houston Dynamo 11:30 a.m. NBC Sports Network
         
Sunday 17-Jun vs. Portland Timbers 4 p.m.  
Wednesday 20-Jun at Real Salt Lake 6 p.m.  
Saturday 23-Jun vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m.  
Saturday 30-Jun at San Jose Earthquakes 7 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
         
Wednesday 4-Jul vs. Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.  
Sunday 8-Jul at Chicago Fire 12 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes
Saturday 14-Jul at Portland Timbers 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Wednesday 18-Jul at Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7 p.m.  
Saturday 21-Jul vs. Chivas USA 7 p.m. Galavision
Saturday 28-Jul at FC Dallas 5 p.m. NBC Sports Network
         
Sunday 5-Aug at Seattle Sounders FC 7 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Sunday 12-Aug at Chivas USA 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Wednesday 15-Aug at Columbus Crew 5 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Sunday 26-Aug vs. FC Dallas 4 p.m. NBC Sports Network
         
Saturday 1-Sep vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7 p.m.  
Sunday 16-Sep vs. Colorado Rapids 4 p.m. Galavision
Saturday 22-Sep vs. Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.  
Sunday 30-Sep at Colorado Rapids 4 p.m. Galavision
         
Saturday  6-Oct vs. Real Salt Lake 6 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Sunday 21-Oct at San Jose Earthquakes 4 p.m. Galavision
Sunday  28-Oct vs. Seattle Sounders FC 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes