Getty Images

Morgan Freeman joins USA final WC 2022 push

NEW YORK – What better way to deliver a crucial, final 30-minute presentation than to have the voice of Morgan Freeman as narrator?

The USA Bid Committee is going to do one better: It will have the Academy Award-winning actor in the flesh when it states its case for the last time to host the 2022 World Cup for the last time in front of the FIFA Executive Committee on Wednesday at 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT in Zürich, Switzerland (live stream at

The USA will be the fourth of the five bids to present on Wednesday in the hope of landing the 2022 World Cup. The FIFA Executive Committee will then conduct its final vote on Thursday at FIFA House (8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT), followed by the formal public announcement of the winning bid at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT.

Freeman, who is already a member of the US Bid Committee’s Board of Directors, will be joined for the presentation by US President Bill Clinton, US Soccer Federation president Sunil Gulati and Los Angeles Galaxy and American soccer star Landon Donovan. The presentations of each of the bidding nations will be streamed live on

The official unveiling of the hosts of the 2018 and 2022 World Cups will be televised live on Thursday in the United States via ESPN, ESPN Deportes, Fox Soccer Channel, Univisión and CNN International (10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT). Join the Galaxy at ESPN Zone at LA Live starting at 6:30 a.m. PT to cheer on the U.S.  Miss LA Galaxy and her court will be signing autographs and Galaxy street team will hand out giveaways and raffle off a 2010 team signed soccer ball.  Click here for more information about the viewing event.

Looking for the perfect gift for the Galaxy fan in your life? Check out Galaxy holiday ticket packs, including a Galaxy blanket to stay warm & toasty all off season long! Holiday packs start at just $69! More Info

Bookmark and Share

MLS donates $2 million to US World Cup Bid Committee
House of Representatives pass resolution supporting US World Cup bid
Freeman narrates US Bid Committee's promotional video
Galaxy's Ricketts and Juninho show their support for US bid