Major League Soccer and The Home Depot to recognize Community MVPs at the 2011 AT&T MLS All-Star game

NEW YORK - MLS W.O.R.K.S., Major League Soccer’s community outreach initiative, and The Home Depot, the official home improvement retailer of MLS, will recognize 18 Community MVPs  at the 2011 AT&T MLS All-Star Game at Red Bull Arena on Wednesday, July 27. One Community MVP was chosen to represent each MLS club and will be recognized for their outstanding dedication and commitment to making a difference and improving their local communities. 


Winners will receive a $500 gift card provided by The Home Depot and a trip to the 2011 AT&T MLS All-Star Game. Round-trip coach airfare will be provided by American Airlines and stays are courtesy of the Official Hotel Partner, Four Points by Sheraton. Official MLS merchandise will also be a part of the prize package along with a crystal award from Tiffany & Co. The MVPs will be recognized at a pre-game reception and during an on-field ceremony during halftime of the 2011 AT&T MLS All-Star Game. One grand prize winner will receive a $10,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

The grand prize winner will be chosen through an online voting process. In order to vote for their favorite MVP, fans should “like” MLS on Facebook ( and visit the MLS W.O.R.K.S. tab. Voting will take place from July 8 at 3:00 p.m. ET to July 22 at 5:00 p.m. ET. The grand prize winner will be announced with a special check presentation during the halftime recognition ceremony of the 2011 AT&T MLS All-Star Game.  Click each person's name to read his/her bio.

2011 MLS W.O.R.K.S./The Home Depot Community MVPs

Chicago Fire – Robert Kellam

Chivas USA – Eddi Ortiz

Colorado Rapids – Andrea Viarrial

Columbus Crew – Nellie Krumlauf

D.C. United – David Stellitano

FC Dallas – Sam Overton

Houston Dynamo – Nancy Shaddock

LA Galaxy – Matt McDonagh

New England Revolution – Holly John

New York Red Bulls – Robert Uvanović

Philadelphia Union – Beth Stefanacci

Portland Timbers – Jill Dayton

Real Salt Lake – Kevin Bardsley

San Jose Earthquakes – Stuart Berman

Seattle Sounders FC – Lisa Drake

Sporting Kansas City – Nancy Simons

Toronto FC – Jennifer Weber

Vancouver Whitecaps FC – Gavin Hollett

Additional information on the winners can be found here on the MLS W.O.R.K.S. website.

About MLS W.O.R.K.S.

MLS W.O.R.K.S. is Major League Soccer's community outreach initiative dedicated to addressing important social issues affecting young people and serves as a platform for both League and club philanthropic programs. MLS W.O.R.K.S. seeks to establish Major League Soccer as a leader for improving the lives of people through sport. A component of the MLS W.O.R.K.S. community service program, Unite. Volunteer. Serve., the MLS W.O.R.K.S./The Home Depot Community MVP contest seeks to identify MLS fans who are passionate about making a difference in the lives they touch and are dedicated to improving their communities.

About Major League Soccer

Headquartered in New York City, Major League Soccer is the top-flight professional soccer league in the United States and Canada. MLS features many stars from the U.S., Canada, and around the world. Major League Soccer’s 16th season will feature 18 clubs each playing 34 regular season matches. Those clubs include Chicago Fire; Chivas USA; 2010 MLS Cup champion Colorado Rapids; Columbus Crew; D.C. United; FC Dallas; Houston Dynamo; LA Galaxy; New York Red Bulls; New England Revolution; Philadelphia Union; Real Salt Lake; San Jose Earthquakes; Seattle Sounders FC; Sporting Kansas City; Toronto FC; and, in their inaugural seasons, Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps FC. An expansion team in Montreal will debut in 2012. For more information about MLS, log on to the League’s official website at