EA Sports announces that the USWNT and other national teams will be included in FIFA 16

The next time that you play FIFA, you'll have the opportunity to play as U.S. Women's National Team superstars Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan and Christen Press. 

EA Sports announced on Thursday that 12 Women's National Teams including the USWNT will be included in the upcoming edition of FIFA 16, marking the first time that female players will be playable characters in the video game. The news comes just days before the start of the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada which is slated to run from June 6 to July 5. 

The U.S. squad will be joined by playable teams by squads from Germany, Mexico, France, Sweden, England, Canada, Australia, China, Italy, Spain, and Brazil. All 12 teams will be available in both online and offline functions but the teams will only be able to play against other women's teams. 

A video trailer for the game feature can be seen above.