Vote now: Save of the Year

The 2012 MLS season wasn’t easy for the LA Galaxy, but much of the reason that the year ended with another MLS Cup title was due to the play of the club’s goalkeepers and defense.

Here at, we’re asking for your help as we determine which save or defensive stop stands head and shoulders above all others.

The competition for the 2012 Save of the Year will feature 12 saves in a round-robin style tournament that will feature four group stages to shrink the field from 12 to the finest save of the year.

How it works:

  • 12 saves are nominated by
  • The First Round consists of 12 saves in four groups. Voting for each of the groups will take place through a week-long online voting process.
  • Final Round consists of the winning saves from each group. A week-long online voting process will yield one winner which will be crowned Save of the Year.

Voting Schedule:

  • Group 1 - WINNER: Josh Saunders' stoppage time PK save @ Colorado
  • Group 2 - WINNER: Josh Saunders' save on Chris Wondolowski and Rafa Baca
  • Group 3 - WINNER: Josh Saunders' save on Seattle's Freddy Montero in the 59'
  • Group 4 - WINNER: Marcelo Sarvas' save on Colorado's Conor Casey in the 79'
  • Winning save from each group will make it to the Final Round. Voting for the Final Round will take place Wednesday, January 9 - Tuesday, January 15 at 11:59 p.m. PT.

The winner of Save of the Year will be announced on January 16.

Below are the winners of the First Round and nominees in the Final Round for Save of the Year…

Final Round

Group Winners

Saunders @ COL
Saunders @ SJ
Saunders vs. SEA
Sarvas vs. COL


First Round

Group 1 Winner Group 2 Winner Group 3 Winner Group 4 Winner

Saunders @ COL

Saunders @ SJ

Saunders vs. SEA,

Sarvas vs. COL