nashville miami

MLS announces conference alignment for 2020 season: Nashville SC in West, Inter Miami in East

Expansion club Nashville SC will join the LA Galaxy in the Western Conference for the 2020 MLS regular season, the league announced on Monday. 

As Major League Soccer prepares to kick off with an all-time high 26 clubs next season, the league announced that Nashville will play in the Western Conference, while fellow expansion side Inter Miami CF will play on the Eastern Conference.

Both conferences will have 13 clubs for the 2020 campaign.

In 2020, each club will play a 34-game regular season docket with 17 home matches and 17 games on the road. All MLS sides will play 12 intra-conference opponents twice -- home and away --- for a total of 24 fixtures. The remaining 10 games will feature rivals from the opposite conference. 

Three other expansion sides are scheduled to join the league in the coming years: Austin FC (2021), Sacramento Republic FC (2022) and St. Louis (2022).

Western Conference (13 clubs)

  • Colorado Rapids
  • FC Dallas
  • Houston Dynamo
  • LAFC
  • LA Galaxy
  • Minnesota United
  • Nashville SC
  • Portland Timbers
  • Real Salt Lake
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Sporting Kansas City
  • Vancouver Whitecaps

Eastern Conference (13 clubs)

  • Atlanta United
  • Chicago Fire FC
  • Columbus Crew SC
  • D.C. United
  • FC Cincinnati
  • Inter Miami CF
  • Montreal Impact
  • New England Revolution
  • New York City FC
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Orlando City
  • Philadelphia Union
  • Toronto FC