Ballon d'or

CARSON, Calif. - LA Galaxy forward Giovani dos Santos has been included among some of the globe's greatest soccer talents on the 2015 Ballon d'Or long list. 

Dos Santos is among the top 59-players in the world on the long list for the prestigious Ballon d’Or trophy that is awarded to the globe’s top player. The 26-year-old LA Galaxy forward is one of two Major League Soccer players included in the list, the other being New York City FC midfielder Andrea Pirlo. Also included on the list is Dos Santos’ national team teammate Andres Guardado.

Although the Mexican striker knows that moving forward in the consideration for the award is incredibly unlikely, he’s still honored to be considered.

“It’s great to be on the list with some of the best players in the world,” Dos Santos said. “I’m very happy to represent my country and my team. I’m very proud. I’ve been working very hard, and while it was a surprise for me, I’m very happy.” 

The complete list is below:

Claudio Bravo - Barcelona

Javier Mascherano - Barcelona

Andrés Iniesta - Barcelona

Lionel Messi - Barcelona

Ivan Rakitic - Barcelona

Neymar - Barcelona

Luis Suárez - Barcelona

Gareth Bale - Real Madrid

Karim Benzema - Real Madrid

Sergio Ramos - Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid

Luka Modric - Real Madrid

James Rodríguez - Real Madrid

Toni Kroos - Real Madrid

Giorgio Chiellini - Juventus

Paul Pogba - Juventus

Alvaro Morata - Juventus

Arturo Vidal - Juventus/Bayern

Andrea Pirlo - Juventus/New York City FC

Carlos Tevez - Juventus/Boca Juniors

Robert Lewandowski - Bayern

Arjen Robben - Bayern

David Alaba - Bayern

Thomas Müller - Bayern

Manuel Neuer - Bayern

Wilfried Bony - Manchester City

Yaya Touré - Manchester City

Sergio Agüero - Manchester City

Nicolás Otamendi - Valencia/Manchester City

Kevin de Bruyne - Wolfsburg/Manchester City

Diego Costa - Chelsea

Willian - Chelsea

Thibaut Courtois - Chelsea

Eden Hazard - Chelsea

Edinson Cavani - PSG

Zlatan Ibrahimovic - PSG

Javier Pastore - PSG

Wayne Rooney - Manchester United

David de Gea - Manchester United

Memphis Depay - PSV/Manchester United

David Ospina - Arsenal

Alexis Sánchez - Arsenal

Antoine Griezmann - Atlético Madrid

Jackson Martínez - Porto/Atlético Madrid

Carlos Bacca - Sevilla/Milan

Giovani dos Santos - Villarreal/LA Galaxy

Philippe Coutinho - Liverpool

Son Heung-min - Bayer Leverkusen/Tottenham

Christian Atsu - Everton/Bournemouth

Paolo Guerrero - Flamengo/Corinthians

Eduardo Vargas - QPR/Hoffenheim

Gary Medel - Internazionale

Harry Kane - Tottenham

Alexandre Lacazette - Lyon

Andrés Guardado - PSV

Carlos Sánchez - River Plate

André Ayew - Marseille/Swansea

Massimo Luongo - Swindon/QPR

Shinji Okazaki - Mainz/Leicester