Gyasi Zardes and Oscar Sorto named to USMNT January Camp

Zardes Sorto

CARSON, Calif. (Friday, Jan. 9, 2015) – LA Galaxy Homegrown Players Gyasi Zardes and Oscar Sorto have been named to a 28-man roster for the U.S. Men’s National Team January camp by head coach Jurgen Klinsmann, U.S. Soccer announced today. The call up marks the first to the senior national team for both Zardes and Sorto.

“The prize in 2015 for the senior National Team is the Gold Cup, and this camp will give a lot of our players a chance to kick start their preparations for an important year,” Klinsmann said. “We also get an opportunity to introduce the next wave of young players into the program, and in particular work with many of our Olympic-age guys as they build toward qualifying for the 2016 Olympics in Rio.”

The camp will run from Jan. 12-Feb. 8 and span across two continents. After 12 days of training at StubHub Center, the team will head to Santiago in Chile for training from Jan. 25-29 to prepare for its first friendly of the year against fellow 2014 World Cup side Chile on Wednesday, Jan. 28 at Estadio El Teniente in Rancagua. Kickoff time will be announced at a later time. The team will then return to the U.S. Soccer National Training Center at StubHub Center, preparing for match Sunday, Feb. 8 at StubHub Center against Panama live on ESPN, UniMas, with kickoff set for 1 p.m. PT.

Zardes and Sorto are two of 14 players in the camp looking to earn their first cap for the Senior Team. Sorto is one of 11 Olympic-age players who would be eligible to represent the USA at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Zardes, 23, enjoyed a breakout year in 2014, scoring 16 goals during the regular season to set a new Homegrown Player single season record. Zardes’ 16 goals were good enough for sixth-most during the 2014 MLS Regular Season. In total, the forward played in 32 matches, notching 16 goals and two assists. Zardes also contributed to the Galaxy’s record fifth MLS Cup title, scoring the game’s opening goal in the 52nd minute of play. In two years with the Galaxy, Zardes has registered 59 appearances, 20 goals and six assists. Prior to joining the Galaxy, Zardes represented the LA Galaxy Academy U-18’s and U-20’s before attending CSU Bakersfield, where he went on to lead his team to its first-ever NCAA tournament while being named a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

Sorto, 20, signed a Homegrown Player contract with the Galaxy in 2012 after helping the LA Galaxy Academy’s U-18 squad win the 2011-12 SoCal Division title, becoming the first Galaxy Academy defender to sign with the Galaxy. His professional debut came in the CONCACAF Champion’s Leaguein 2013 when he was a substitute during a 3-0 win over Cartagines of Costa Rica. His MLS debut came last season in a 3-0 victory over Chivas USA at Stubhub Center. In 2014, Sorto featured for the Galaxy’s USL PRO Team Galaxy II, starting in 23 regular season matches and leading the club to the USL PRO Semifinal during their inaugural season.

More than 10,000 tickets have been sold for the USA’s first home game in the new year. Fans can purchase tickets through, by calling 1-888-929-7849, and at the StubHub Center ticket office (open Monday-Friday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. PT).

Groups of 20 or more can obtain an order form at or call 312-528-1290. Ultimate Fan Tickets (special VIP packages that include a premium ticket, a custom-made official U.S. National Team jersey with name and number, VIP access to the field before and after the game, and other unique benefits) are also available exclusively through


GOALKEEPERS (3): Alex Bono (unattached), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Christian Dean (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (out of contract), Dennis Flores (Club Leon), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Marc Pelosi (Liverpool FC), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew) 

FORWARDS (6): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julio Morales (Tepic), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)