CONCACAF Champions League

CARSON, Calif. (Monday, June 1, 2015) – The LA Galaxy have been drawn into Group D of the 2015-16 CONCACAF Champions League alongside Central FC of Trinidad & Tobago and Comunicaciones FC of Guatemala. The Champions League draw, which set the eight, three-team pairings that comprise the tournament’s Group Stage, was held tonight in Miami. The full tournament schedule will be announced at a later date while the eventual Champions League winner will earn a berth in the 2016 FIFA World Club Cup.

A semifinalist in the 2012-13 Champions League, the Galaxy qualified for this installment of the tournament by winning MLS Cup 2014 last December. This is the fifth time in which LA have qualified for the Champions League, debuting in the 2010-11 edition of the tournament. After being eliminated in the Preliminary Round of the 2010-11 Champions League, the Galaxy won their group in 2011-12 and 2012-13, falling in the Quarterfinals in 2011-12 and in the Semifinals in 2012-13. In the 2013-14 edition, Galaxy earned second place in Group 8 and fell to Club Tijuana 4-3 on aggregate in the tournament’s Quarterfinals.

In Group D, the Galaxy will face the runners up of the 2013-14 FA Trophy of Trinidad and Tobago and winners of the 2014 Apertura & 2015 Clausura of Liga Nacional de Guatemala Comunicaciones FC. It marks the first time the Galaxy have faced either side in the CONCACAF Champions League.

Central FC was founded in 2012 and play their home matches in Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. The team won the First Citizens Cup in 2013 and 2014 and also finished as runners up for the FA Trophy in its first two seasons in the TT Pro League. The team also captured the Lucozade Sport Goal Shield in 2014.

Comunicaciones FC is one of the most successful clubs in Guatemalan football history. Based in Estadio La Pedrera in Guatemala City, Comunicaciones has won a record 30 Liga Nacional de Guatemala titles, eight Copa de Guatemala titles and one CONCACAF Champions’ Cup.

A full list of all eight groups is shown below:


  • W Connection F.C. (TRI)
  • Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)
  • Santos Laguna (MEX)


  • Isidro Metapan (SLV)
  • Herediano (CRC)
  • UANL Tigres (MEX)


  • Verdes FC (BLZ)
  • San Francisco FC (PAN)
  • Queretaro (MEX)


  • Central FC (TRI)
  • Comunicaciones FC (GUA)
  • LA Galaxy (USA)


  • C.D. Walter Ferreti (NCA)
  • C.D. Motagua (HON)
  • Club América (MEX)


  • Vancouver Whitecaps (CAN)
  • C.D. Olimpia (HON)
  • Seattle Sounders FC (USA)


  • Santa Tecla (SLV)
  • Municipal (GUA)
  • Real Salt Lake (USA)


  • Montego Bay United (JAM)
  • C.D. Arabe Unido (PAN)
  • D.C. United (USA)