Press Release

LA Galaxy Midfielder Riqui Puig Selected for 2023 MLS All-Star Game Presented by Target

LOS ANGELES (Tuesday, June 27, 2023) – Major League Soccer today announced that LA Galaxy midfielder Riqui Puig was named to the 26-man roster for the 2023 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. Puig, a first-time MLS All-Star selection, was named to the roster via MLS All-Star head coach Wayne Rooney.

Puig, 23, has tallied one goal and three assists in 17 appearances (17 starts) across 1,530 minutes played for the Galaxy during the 2023 MLS Regular Season. In 20 matches played (20 starts) across all competitions for LA this season, Puig has tallied two goals and three assists. Notably, Puig, a Designated Player, ranks second in MLS in dribbles completed (57) and touches (1,589), third in passes completed in the final third (452), fourth in completed passes (1,087) and fifth in the league in chances created from open play (33).

In his first season with the club during the 2022 campaign, Puig tallied three goals and five assists in 10 regular-season appearances (9 starts). The LA Galaxy acquired Puig from FC Barcelona on Aug. 4, 2022, with the midfielder tallying two goals and three assists in 57 appearances (15 starts) across all competitions with Barcelona (2018-22).

The 2023 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target will be played on Wednesday, July 19, and will feature the MLS All-Stars taking on Arsenal FC, the 13-time English league champions, at Audi Field, home of D.C. United. The roster was selected through a combination of fan, player and media voting (12 players), designations by All-Star head coach Wayne Rooney of host club D.C. United (12 players) and a pair of selections by MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

The 2023 MLS All-Star roster by position and selection mechanism

GOALKEEPERS (3): Roman Bürki (St. Louis CITY SC / Voted In), Tyler Miller (D.C. United / Coach’s Selection), Djordje Petrović (New England Revolution / Coach’s Selection)

DEFENDERS (7): Álvaro Barreal (FC Cincinnati / Voted In), Jon Gallagher (Austin FC / Voted In), Ryan Hollingshead (LAFC / Coach’s Selection), Matt Miazga (FC Cincinnati / Voted In), Tim Parker (St. Louis CITY SC / Coach’s Selection), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls / Coach’s Selection), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC / Voted In)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati / Voted In), Thiago Almada (Atlanta United / Voted In), Mathieu Choinière (CF Montréal / Commissioner’s Selection), Héctor Herrera (Houston Dynamo FC / Coach’s Selection), José Martínez (Philadelphia Union / Coach’s Selection), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew / Voted In), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC / Voted In), Riqui Puig (LA Galaxy / Coach’s Selection), Lucas Zelarayán (Columbus Crew / Coach’s Selection)

FORWARDS / WINGERS (7): Christian Benteke (D.C. United / Coach’s Selection), Dénis Bouanga (LAFC / Voted In), Cristian Espinoza (San Jose Earthquakes / Coach’s Selection), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas / Voted In), Giorgos Giakoumakis (Atlanta United / Coach’s Selection), Kei Kamara (Chicago Fire FC / Commissioner’s Selection), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC / Voted In)