D.C. United and the LA Galaxy swapped haymakers at RFK Stadium on Saturday night, uncorking 34 total shots (12 of them on target), but neither side could find the knockout blow as they settled for a 0-0 draw. 

Goalkeepers Bill Hamid and Jon Kempin were big reasons why, making six and five saves, respectively, while United star Luciano Acosta banged a promising look off the crossbar in the second half. 

The result extends LA's unbeaten run to six games, while United are now winless in their last four home games, failing to score a goal in any of them. D.C. have not scored a goal in open play (they beat Vancouver 1-0 last week via a penalty kick) since Sebastien Le Toux's goal vs. Atlanta on April 30, a span of more than 500 minutes. 

The game was very likely the last of these two founding MLS clubs' many meetings at RFK Stadium, dating back to the league's inaugural season in 1996. 


  • None

Next Up

  • DC: U.S. Open Cup: Tuesday, June 13  – vs. Christos FC (7:30 pm ET )
  • LA: U.S. Open Cup: Wednesday, June 14 – vs. Orange County SC (10:30 pm ET)

LA Galaxy Postgame Notes
LA Galaxy 0, D.C. United 0
Saturday, June 3, 2017
2017 MLS Regular Season
RFK Stadium – Washington D.C.

Scoring Summary:

  • None

Misconduct Summary:

  • LA – Jelle Van Damme (caution) 35’
  • DC – Lloyd Sam (caution) 37’


LA Galaxy: Jon Kempin; Bradley Diallo, Dave Romney, Jelle Van Damme ©, Ashley Cole; João Pedro, Rafael Garcia (Jaime Villarreal 83’); Romain Alessandrini, Giovani dos Santos, Emmanuel Boateng (Jack McInerney 75’); Gyasi Zardes.

Substitutions not used: Eric Lopez, Nathan Smith, Raul Mendiola, Ariel Lassiter, Jack McBean.

Head Coach: Curt Onalfo

TOTAL SHOTS: 15; SHOTS ON GOAL: 6; FOULS: 12; OFFSIDE: 0; CORNER KICKS: 9; SAVES: 6                               

D.C. United: Bill Hamid ©; Chris Korb, Jalen Robinson, Kofi Opare, Taylor Kemp; Lloyd Sam, Jared Jeffrey, Luciano Acosta (Julian Buscher 83’), Ian Harkes, Patrick Nyarko (Lamar Neagle 68’); Jose Guillermo Ortiz (Sebastien Le Toux 82’).

Substitutions not used: Travis Worra, Bobby Boswell, Chris Odoi-Atsem, Marcelo Sarvas. 

Head Coach: Ben Olsen 


Referee: Drew Fischer

Assistant Referees: Kyle Atkins and Brian Poeschel

Fourth Official: Jose Carlos Rivero

Attendance: 17,730