Robbie Keane named 2014 Volkswagen #MLSMVP

CARSON, Calif. (Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014) – LA Galaxy and Major League Soccer announced today that forward Robbie Keane has been named the 2014 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player. Keane, who also earned MLS Best XI honors, earns his first MVP award since joining the club in 2011 and becomes the third LA Galaxy player in history to be named MVP.

  • WATCH: All of Robbie Keane's 2014 goals

The Galaxy Designated Player recorded career highs in both goals and assists during the 2014 MLS Regular Season. Keane finished with the third-most goals in MLS this season with 19 and

The Best of Robbie Keane 2014
<script height="140px" width="248px" src=""></script>

was tied for second in assists with 14, giving him the highest combination of goals and assists from any player this season and the most of any player during a single season in club history. In addition to his five game-winning goals, he also led MLS with six game-winning assists. In his 29 appearances for the Galaxy this season, the Galaxy lost only five total matches, going 15-5-9.

Keane, a 2013 MLS MVP Finalist, continued his record regular season campaign into the MLS Cup Playoffs, scoring a goal and adding three assists through the Galaxy’s four matches. His three assists against Salt Lake in the Western Conference Semifinal match made him just the fourth player in Galaxy history to record three assists in a playoff game.

Since joining the Galaxy in 2011, the Irish international has scored 53 goals and added 35 assists in 84 MLS appearances, with 15 game-winning goals and assists apiece. In postseason matches, he has scored eight times and added six assists in just 16 appearances while leading the Galaxy to MLS Cup titles in 2011 and 2012. He has been named to the MLS Best XI three consecutive times and an MLS All-Star for two straight seasons.

Keane joins Carlos Ruiz (2002) and Landon Donovan (2009) as the only players in LA Galaxy history to be named MLS MVP.

  • WATCH:All of Robbie Keane's 2014 assists

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on MLS Regular Season performance. The other two finalists were New England Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen and Seattle Sounders FC forward Obafemi Martins. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top four candidates:

% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
<strong>Robbie Keane (LA)</strong>
<span class="s1"><b>88.69</b></span>
<p>Obafemi Martins (SEA)</p>
<p align="right">19.05</p>
<p align="right">27.78</p>
<p align="right">16.39</p>
<span class="s1">63.22</span>
<p>Lee Nguyen (NE)</p>
<p align="right">21.43</p>
<p align="right">18.89</p>
<p align="right">17.22</p>
<span class="s1">57.54</span>
<p>Bradley Wright-Phillips (NY)</p>
<p align="right">20.25</p>
<p align="right">7.78</p>
<p align="right">21.78</p>
<span class="s1">49.81</span>

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:
2014: Robbie Keane – LA Galaxy

2013: Mike Magee – Chicago Fire

2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United

2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars

2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United

1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny