MLS Cup 2002 Championship Winning Squad to be Inducted to the LA Galaxy's Wall of Legends

CARSON, Calif. (Friday, September 21, 2012) – Prior to Saturday’s MLS regular season game against Toronto FC, the LA Galaxy will induct of the club’s 2002 MLS Cup winning squad into the Wall of Legends at The Home Depot Center. The 2002 team, the first Galaxy squad to win MLS Cup, will join former players Mauricio Cienfuegos and Cobi Jones as well as former President and General Manager Doug Hamilton in the Wall of Legends, which was created in 2008. The induction ceremony will begin at 4:15 p.m. and will take place at the Wall of Legends, which is located at the top of section 104 in the southwest corner of the stadium.

In addition to the induction ceremony, the club will hold an Alumni Game, which is presented by Time Warner Cable SportsNet and Time Warner Cable Deportes, on the stadium field starting at 5:30 p.m. Because of these events, Media Check In will open at 4 p.m. on Saturday.

Among those who are scheduled to be in attendance from the 2002 team are Mauricio Cienfuegos, Cobi Jones and Alexi Lalas, who each wore the captain’s armband at different points during the season, as well as Isaias Bardales Jr., Alex Bengard, Simon Elliott, Adam Frye, Gavin Glinton and Jesus Ochoa, all of whom were members of the 2002 MLS Cup winning side. That group will then be joined by a number of former Galaxy greats such as Dan Calichman, Paul Caligiuri, Chris Klein, Eddie Lewis, Clint Mathis and Danny Pena and many others to form an Alumni Team that will be coached by Ralph Perez, an assistant coach on the 2002 squad. The Alumni Team, who will be wearing replicas of the club’s 2002 jersey, will take on a team of Galaxy Academy players in a 40-minute game on the stadium field.

All of the alumni in attendance will also be recognized on the field at halftime of Saturday night’s game, which kicks off at 7:30 p.m.