LA Galaxy celebrate 10-year anniversary of 2002 MLS Cup championship

On September 22, the LA Galaxy hosted Alumni Night celebrating the 10-year Anniversary of the Galaxy’s first MLS Cup Championship in 2002. Highlighting the night was the induction of the team’s 2002 MLS Cup winning squad to the club’s Wall of Legends and Alumni Game on the stadium field.

Among those in attendance from the 2002 team were Mauricio Cienfuegos, Cobi Jones and Alexi Lalas, who each wore the captain’s armband at different points during the season, as well as Isaias Bardales Jr., Alex Bengard, Simon Elliott, Adam Frye, Gavin Glinton and Jesus Ochoa, all of whom were members of the 2002 MLS Cup winning side. That group was joined by former Galaxy players Dan Calichman, Paul Caligiuri, Chris Klein, Eddie Lewis, Clint Mathis, Danny Pena, Michael Enfield, Dema Kovalenko, Ryan Suarez and John Garvey. Additionally, Ralph Perez, assistant coach on the 2002 squad and Ivan Pierra, head athletic trainer of that same team joined in the celebration.

The Alumni Team wore replicas of the club’s 2002 jersey played a team of Galaxy Academy players in a 40-minute game. Following the game, all of the alumni players signed autographs for fans in SoccerFest. At half-time of the Galaxy game, all of the alumni in attendance were recognized on the field.