Ernesto Walker Panama

Ernesto Walker added to Panama's roster for the 2019 Gold Cup

LA Galaxy II midfielder Ernesto Walker has been added to the 23-player roster for the Gold Cup after Panamanian midfielder Aníbal Godoy has been ruled out of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup due to injury.

Walker received his first senior call up with Panama earlier this year against the U.S. Men’s National Team in January. He also featured in Panama’s international friendly against Brazil in March. The 20-year-old has featured for the Panama U-20 National Team on 10 occasions, recording eight starts and three goals to date. Most recently, Walker participated in the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup, where he scored one goal and provided one assist. 

For Los Dos, Walker has become a regular contributor this season, logging 453 minutes in seven appearances with one goal and two assists.

Panama kicks off the Gold Cup on Tuesday, June 18 against Trinidad and Tobago (4:30 p.m. PT), faces Guyana on Saturday, June 22 (2:30 p.m. PT) and wraps up the group stage on Wednesday, June 26 vs. USA (6 p.m. PT).  

2019 Concacaf Gold Cup Roster by Position (Club; Country)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Luis Mejía (National Football Club; Uruguay), José Calderón (Deportivo Guastatoya; Guatemala), Orlando Mosquera (Tauro FC; Panama)

DEFENDERS (8): Eric Davis (FC DAC 1904; Slovakia), Kevin Galván (Sporting SM; Panama), Fidel Escobar (Sporting SM; Panama), Adolfo Machado (The Strongest; Bolivia), Harold Cummings (San José Earthquakes; United States), Román Torres (Seattle Sounders FC; United States), Michael Amir Murillo (Red Bulls NY; United States), Francisco Palacios (San Francisco FC; Panama)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Alberto Quintero (University Club of Sports; Peru), Édgar Yoel Bárcenas (Real Oviedo; Spain), Marcos Sánchez (Tauro FC; Panama), Armando Cooper (Maccabi Petah-Tikvah FC; Israel), Ernesto Walker (LA Galaxy II; United States), José Luis Rodríguez (Deportivo Alavés B; Spain), Omar Browne (Montreal Impact; Canada)

FORWARDS (5): José Fajardo (Al-Kawkab; Saudi Arabia), Rolando Blackburn (The Strongest; Bolivia), Gabriel Torres (Club University of Chile; Chile), Abdiel Arroyo (Deportivo Árabe Unido; Panama), Valentín Pimentel (CD Plaza Amador; Panama)