LA Galaxy

LA Galaxy forward Zlatan Ibrahimović named MLS Newcomer of the Year

LOS ANGELES (Monday, Nov. 12, 2018) – Major League Soccer today announced LA Galaxy forward Zlatan Ibrahimović has been named the 2018 MLS Newcomer of the Year. The award recognizes the year’s most impactful new MLS player who has prior professional experience. Ibrahimović, who was named to the MLS Best XI Sunday, shone the brightest among a class of 200-plus star-studded newcomers that averaged 25 years of age and hailed from more than 40 countries.

Ibrahimović took the league by storm in his first year with the LA Galaxy, finishing the season with 22 goals and 10 assists in 27 matches played, becoming the third player ever to post a 20-goal, 10-assist season in MLS history. The 32 combined goals and assists by Ibrahimović meanwhile tie for the sixth most in league history. Ibrahimović helped the Galaxy to a 9-2-4 record in matches where he scored a goal, beating out fellow standouts including English icon Wayne Rooney (D.C. United) and 23-year-old “Kaku” (New York Red Bulls) of Paraguay’s National Team, among many others. 

This season, Ibrahimović joined Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi as the third active player to score 500 goals for club and country with an incredible roundhouse kick volley against Toronto FC on Sept. 15. The feat adds to an already illustrious career that includes titles with European giants, including FC Barcelona, Paris Saint-Germain, and Inter Milan, among others. The hulking forward experienced a tremendous international career with the Sweden National Team, ranking first in the nation’s history with 62 goals in his career while also starring in the 2002 and 2006 FIFA World Cups.

The Newcomer of the Year Award recognizes players with previous professional experience but who are in their first year playing in MLS, which makes rookies ineligible for consideration. Similarly, players eligible for Newcomer of the Year are ineligible for Rookie of the Year.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

<strong>Newcomer of the Year</strong>
<strong>Player Vote %</strong>
<strong>Club Vote %</strong>
<strong>Media Vote %</strong>
<strong>Average %</strong>
<strong>Zlatan Ibrahimović (LA)</strong>
<p>Wayne Rooney (DC)</p>
<p>Carlos Vela (LFC)</p>
<p>Darwin Quintero (MIN)</p>
<p>Alejandro Romero Gamarra “Kaku” (RBNY)</p>
<p>Diego Rossi (LFC)</p>
<p>Johnny Russell (SKC)</p>

MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners:

2018: Zlatan Ibrahimović – LA Galaxy

2017: Miguel Almirón – Atlanta United

2016: Nicolás Lodeiro – Seattle Sounders FC

2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC

2014: Pedro Morales – Vancouver Whitecaps FC

2013: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers

2012: Federico Higuaín – Columbus Crew SC

2011: Mauro Rosales – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Álvaro Saborío – Real Salt Lake

2009: Fredy Montero – Seattle Sounders FC

2008: Darren Huckerby – San Jose Earthquakes

2007: Luciano Emílio – D.C. United