Landon Donovan, Omar Gonzalez named to preliminary U.S. National Team roster for the 2013 Gold Cup


CONCACAF revealed all 12 preliminary rosters for the upcoming 2013 Gold Cup on Friday, and there were few surprises to be found on Jurgen Klinsmann's US roster.

As expected, the roster features a heavy contingent of players who will be in the middle of their club seasons, both in MLS and Scandinavia, though there is also a healthy representation from Mexico-based and out-of-season European-based players.

Notable inclusions for the United States are Landon Donovan – who has not featured for the USMNT since their 1-0 friendly win over Mexico in the Estadio Azteca in August 2012 – and veteran defenders Oguchi Onyewu and Carlos Bocanegra, who have struggled to keep their places in Klinsmann's side after rocky years in Spain.

READ: Analyst — What Klinsmann can learn without Donovan

Among the MLS ranks, the Houston Dynamo lead the way with four players, while Sporting Kansas City and Real Salt Lake are close behind three players on the roster. The San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders and LA Galaxy have two players named, while D.C. United, the Chicago Fire and Philadelphia Union all have one player on the roster.

Each country must name a final, 23-man roster for the tournament on June 27, with the opening game set for July 8. Teams will have the opportunity to swap in up to four players from the 35-man roster at the conclusion of the tournament's group stage.

Preliminary US national team roster for 2013 Gold Cup:

Goalkeepers (4): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders (11): Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/Mexico), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander/Spain), Edgar Castillo (Tijuana/Mexico), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (Brondby/Denmark), Oguchi Onyewu (Málaga/Spain), Michael Orozco Fiscal (Puebla/Mexico), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg/Germany)

Midfielders (13): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Helsingborgs/Sweden), Joe Corona (Tijuana/Mexico), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/Norway), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Josh Gatt (Molde/Norway), Stuart Holden (Bolton Wanderers/England), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Brek Shea (Stoke City/England), Jose Torres (Tigres UANL/Mexico), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (7): Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Herculez Gomez (Santos Laguna/Mexico), Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes), Jack McInerney (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich/Germany)